FF Challenge Aug 11th – Pride and a Fall

Once again with feeling, welcome to my submission to this week’s Friday Fictioneers Challenge. Not familiar with it here’s a recap. The goal is to write a story 100 words or less based on a photo prompt. Interested in finding out more please visit our noble host’s site by clicking Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

This weeks photo prompt has been provided by CE Ayr. Thank you Mr. Ayr for the intriguing photo. It was a tough one.

Please click HERE to read stories by other writers.

Now here is my 99 word story –

FF Aug 11
PHOTO PROMPT© CEAyr

Pride and a Fall

Hey old man, where are you? Couldn’t keep up, huh? Damn root, my ankle is swollen. Tried to stand, I fell again. I think my wrist is broken.

Day 2

Pops, where are you? You said the rock that looks like a head, right? Spent the night pressed against that rock. So many noises. I’m scared.

Stock – 3 granola bars, and 1 1/2 bottles of water

Day 6

Dad, you used to say something about pride and a fall. You were right. Where are you?

Day ?

I’m exhausted. I just want to sleep. Daddy, where are you?

Thanks for reading. Please let me a comment, criticism or just off the wall remark.

Cindy

28 thoughts on “FF Challenge Aug 11th – Pride and a Fall

  1. Hey, he already had two granola bars and 11/2 bottles of water than I had when I was dropped for survival at the age of 8. And, “Daddy” was probably within earshot and sight…. Or, at least an uncle. One could hope that much, eh.

    Like

  2. I was intrigued by the name calling progressing from “old man” down to “daddy.” Attitudes certainly change when we move from cocky and self-assured to scared shitless.

    Like

  3. I picked that attitude shift up as well because it is so realistic. Good parents are always there for you when you need them, which that young guy did, alas Dad wasn’t to be found. Doesn’t look good for him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

