FF Challenge, April 14th – A Slice of Life

Thanks for dropping by for this week’s Friday Fictioneers. There are a few pieces of business before we get to my story. First FYI the challenge is to write a story 100 words or less prompted by the photo. The host for this challenge is Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, click her name to visit her site and get all the rules.

Thanks to Dale Rogerson for this weeks photo.

A Slice of Life
PHOTO PROMPT © Dale Rogerson

Now my 99 word story – A Slice of Life

The initial spark was now a raging fire that refused to be sated. Their weekly dates had quickly shifted from dimly lit restaurants to pizza and wine in her apartment. Tim would be arriving with their favorite shortly. The wine was breathing, she was simmering in anticipation.

Jessica flung open the door not expecting the young man who was offering her a pizza box. She barely grasped the ‘He paid already and said to give you this.’

When Jessica’s poisoned body was found, clutched in one hand was Tim’s picture, in the other was the note.

‘Sorry. I’m married.’

Thanks for reading. Please click HERE to read other stories based on this week’s photo.

28 thoughts on “FF Challenge, April 14th – A Slice of Life

  1. Ah, I was about to comment that Tim’s a bit of a psycho until I read MickETalbot’s comment. So my thoughts turn to “tragic”.
    Either way, that Tim’s a bit of a nasty one though.

    Like

  2. I got the suicide bit..and I also got the fact that she finally got her revenge. It was really selfish of him to lead her on and then break it off like that. But then people nowadays are becoming quite self-centered and callous…or so I hear. Very sad story, but very well written in such few words. I liked the phrase “simmering in anticipation”. Might use it somewhere!

    Like

    1. Yea, I was wondering if anyone got that the clutched pictured was her revenge. You’re the first that commented on it. Glad you liked the story.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank goodness I’ve worked out how to comment on yours this week. 🙂 I thought she committed suicide, she’d invested a lot in the new relationship and then found out it was a sham, all for nothing.

    Like

  4. He was married. I doubt his marriage survived the debacle. Having the police investigating your husband for the murder of his lover would be trust-shattering, even if he was proven innocent. Well done story.

    Like

    1. My intent was that he poisoned the pizza and would be implicated by his picture. Then when I read it again I liked that it could be interpreted that she killed herself but his picture blamed him. Glad you liked the story. Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

