FF Challenge April 7th – Best Friends

Welcome to this week’s edition of Friday Fictoneers.

Let’s start with a visit to or host Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, at her site for all the rules for this challenge.  In brief they are to write a story 100 words or less based on the photo prompt. Take a chance and join our group by submitting a story. Thanks to Jellico’s Stationhouse for this weeks photo.

Click this link to read all the stories based on this week’s photo.

Now on to my story for the week – Best Friends

shadows
PHOTO PROMPT © Jellico’s Stationhouse

We played all day. You ran, I chased. You jumped, I jumped higher. When you mastered your bike, we raced down hill, arms stretched overhead. Your laughter was a babbling brook that followed us everywhere.

Here in the dark corner of the garage your bike and I wait. Its bright blue paint is covered in dust. The quiet whispers frighten me. Leukemia, they utter furtively as if terrified by the word. Your parents clutch each other, tears streaming.

I saw your parents when they came home yesterday. They were laughing. A sound I’ve missed. Soon you’ll come out to play.

Word Count – 100

Thanks for reading. Take a moment and leave me a comment.

Cheers,

Cindy

20 thoughts on “FF Challenge April 7th – Best Friends

  1. Dear Cindy,

    I hope this means the child’s in remission. My youngest son had a friend in kindergarten who had Leukemia so this kind of struck a chord with me. Well done. Sweet story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    1. Thanks for taking the time to read my story and leaving a comment. I can not imagine how a parent would deal with that diagnosis.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. When my doctor told me (in a phone call) that my blood test showed I had leukemia, it blew me away. “I’m dying!” It would do the same for any parent. You’d just go around numb for days. I had no understanding that there’s more than one kind; after a week I found out I hat the chronic, not-immediately-fatal kind. The child in this story must have had that kind, too.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I like that this had a happy ending – I wasn’t sure it would for a while there. Well set up, you evoke the sadness of illness really well and the upbeat end comes as a welcome surprise.

    Like

Leave a Reply

