Friday Fictioneers – Feb 3rd, Go Gently

Time for this weeks contribution to the Friday Fictioneers Challenge to write a 100 word story based on the photo prompt.

Interested in finding out more about this challenge and the group of writers that accept the challenge each week, start with our host’s Rochelle Wisoff-Fields site by clicking HERE.

Every week numerous writers take on the challenge submitting surprising and engaging stories. Have a look at this weeks submissions by clicking READ MORE.

Every week I tell myself I will write an upbeat story, maybe even a funny story. For some reason that never happens. The photo’s lead me in another direction. Once again I have gone down a serious road. I hope you don’t find it too dark.

Here is this weeks photo, followed by my story.

PHOTO PROMPT © Roger Bultot

orchid

The unseen orchid twisted and stretched towards the light, but today the sun refused to shine. It had been weeks since my mother had suffered the stroke. In the still room, I listened as the machine forced air into her lungs. Whir-Click, Whir-Click.

No, Mr. Thomas you were wrong. I don’t want this frail broken form to rage. I want my mother to go gently into that good night. I pray she will slip peacefully to a heaven that I can only dream of.

I nod to the nurse. A final click, the machine stops. My mother is gone.

99 Words

Thanks for reading. This story was inspired by Dylan Thomas’ most famous poem Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night. The full text of this compelling poem can be found HERE.

Help me grow and develop my writing. Drop me a comment and let me know what you would have done differently or how I could improve this story.

Thanks

Cindy

32 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Feb 3rd, Go Gently

  1. This photograph seems to be inspiring rather morbid reactions across the board, I wouldn’t worry about it! I enjoyed your story, there was something sweet about it.

    Like

    1. I think you’re right. Sometimes we can be selfish and want people to hang on and stay with us longer than they should.

      Like

    1. Thank you. Glad to hear I am not the only one that doesn’t like the sentiments, it almost feels like blasphemy to say.

      Like

  2. I almost wrote this exact same story – well in different words. The picture reminded me of last March when I was called to Denver because my mother was dying. I spent ours in her hospital room looking down on the snow. You really caught that. Your words broke my heart again. In a very good way.

    Like

  3. I love how you took the poem to create this beautifully told story. I, sadly had to go through this two years in a row, first with my father, then with my husband. Neither one did I want to rage, considering the states they were in. The gentler, the betterééé

    Like

  4. A thoughtful piece, that asks questions of the reader. – I was also pleased to follow the link to the poem by Dylan Thomas

    Like

Leave a Reply

