Friday Fictioneers, Jan 20th – The Dawning of Wisdom

Time for this weeks contribution to the Friday Fictioneers Challenge to write a 100 word story based on the photo prompt.

Interested in finding out more about this challenge and the group of writers that accept the challenge each week, start with our host’s Rochelle Wisoff-Fields site by clicking HERE.

Click HERE to fall down the rabbit hole to read stories posted by all those that participated in this week’s challenge.

Thank you Rochelle for selecting this weeks beautiful photo and to Dale Rogerson for providing it. This was a challenging one for me. I struggled with trying to ground the photo into a place and was unsuccessful so this week I went with the feeling, reverence, the photo elicited, from me more than a place it revealed to me.

PHOTO PROMPT © Dale Rogerson
PHOTO PROMPT © Dale Rogerson

The Dawning of Wisdom (Word Count:97)

Lisa rolled her eyes whenever her teacher stopped to point out another boring painting. She mimicked in a pinched voice “The sparing use of color contrasts sharply with the application of thick brush strokes.”

“Geez, get a life,” Lisa muttered. Who cared about paintings done by dead Canadians?

Following the pack through a narrow opening lined with arches, Lisa stopped dead in her tracks, dwarfed by the large canvas.

“How?” she wondered.

The stark solitude it portrayed mirrored her isolation. The soaring heights capped with light matched the hope she clung to.

How had the artist known?

Painting by Lawren Harris
Painting by Lawren Harris

This story is based on my experience when visiting the McMichael Collection in Kleinburg, Ontario. It houses the largest collection of paintings done by the Group of Seven, famous Canadian artists known for their landscape paintings. My favorite among the group is Lawren Harris. It was his paintings that literally stopped me in my tracks more then twelve years ago. I carry that feeling with me to this day.

Curious about these famous Canadian artist click HERE.

Thanks for dropping by. Leave me a comment. I love comments!

Cindy

 

20 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers, Jan 20th – The Dawning of Wisdom

  1. Dear Cindy,

    I related to your story on many levels. I’m always happy when I writer strays from the literal path. 😉 As an artist I hope that someone will one day say that about one of my works. Lovely story. I like the way you took her from abject boredom to an epiphany.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for commenting. Glad you liked the story. I guess subconsciously it was the similarities that brought the story to life.

      Like

Leave a Reply

