Get A Dog Campaign

In the short video a young boy runs through a field urging his companion to keep up,in another scene a young girl gives her companion a bath, yet another scene shows a young boy and girl try to teach their companion to “roll over”. It not until the end of the video that is revealed that the “companions” are a DVD player, a laptop and a cell phone. The disappointment in the kids eyes is heartbreaking. The idea is to get kids to cut the cord, stop their dependence on electronics, to get out and get active. It appears to be a match made in heaven. Children looking for a companion (or is it a plaything) and dogs that need a good home. The post by The Mad Hatters entitled Dog vs iPhone that spurned me on to write this post can be found here. Hats off to Dog Trust for sponsoring this campaign.

Although this is a promotion running in the UK, it does strike a chord for those of us living in the US and Canada (my two homes) where child obesity is running rampant and millions of dogs are euthanized each year. I am confident that the promoters, Dog Trust, has their dogs well-being in mind when placing a dog in a home. I am not a child welfare or animal welfare expert. That does not stop me from having an opinion and I must raise a caution flag.

I can not stress enough that dogs are a living, feeling animal. Dogs have a natural need to be part of a pack and they form strong bonds with their pack members. It is simply cruel to take a dog into your home and then discard it when you become disillusioned or simply discover how much time and work a dog takes. This is what happens hundreds if not thousands of times every day. That cute puppy you or your kids just had to get, chews the sofa cushions when it gets bored. The vet bills start to mount up when it swallows the kids toys. Other bills pile up when your puppy chews your new iPhone.

You or your kids may have pledged an oath, to everyone involved in the adoption, that Fido would be walked religiously twice a day. Those daily walks become “old” very quickly and so does nagging your kids to live up to their obligations. You could hardly wait to play fetch with Fido only to find out that after throwing the ball twice, you were the one that had to fetch it while Fido decides to dig a hole in your prize petunia’s. Fido becomes a real nuisance to your kids, constantly whining while they finish just one more video game, or they keep up with various texts, tweets or snapchats.

On the other hand it could truly be match made in heaven. If getting a dog is a well thought out decision and not an impulse, it may be the best decision you make. The antics of your new family member may keep you in stitches. The bond formed between your son or daughter and their new best friend may be life changing. Your children may surprise you, as they rise to the occasion and feed and walk their companions without constant reminders. The vets bills may be higher then you thought, however, the love and companionship you get from your new family member is priceless.

7 thoughts on “Get A Dog Campaign

  1. It’s really sad that we have to write about these kinds of things…it breaks my heart. Sandi, our golden retriever/border collie cross was a member of our family until she passed away at 14 years old…It was such a loss. Thanks for addressing this in your blog.

    Like

    1. It is sad. I just hope writing about responsible dog ownership helps spread the word. The loss of a dog is a great tragedy, but think of all the memories you have.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. we have the dog now we’ve had the longest of any dog we’ve ever had – she was born here before our son left home 10 yrs. ago, so makes her that old, at least, then we’ve tried to think how long before then and we know we lost her mom at least the year before and we’re thinking 2, since he left early, at 17 and we’re pretty sure he didn’t have his license yet, not when he left home, but when we lost the mom, but he may have been close but he didn’t get it the first time, so may not have been a full year, but know the puppies were definitely weaned and all before then, so not like she left ones we had to try to feed but still, even at 10, we’ve never managed to keep one that long; just can hardly believe, can remember hearing my mom talking about having one who lived to 14 but never thought we would; she’s a beagle/? mix – neighbors’s dog but can’t remember what it was because it’s gone now, too. Our granddaughter, that son’s little girl, is the one who loves her now; she’ll miss her when she’s gone; if she’s not where she can see her now when she comes she gets worried until she finds her.

    But, having said that, this post comes at such an appropo time; something I’ve wanted to do for a long time is get into the therapy dog program but something we’ve never had to do is buy a dog – and we might not have to even now – but had just recently learned that our neighbor raises just the kind of dogs I always had growing up, so thinking wouldn’t have that learning curve there – joseelavallee, we did the full-blooded border collie once, not knowing what we were getting into – that was an experience, loved it, just didn’t know at the time and not one sure I’d want to do again now – but also didn’t realize those cute little dogs I had growing up were actually expensive hunting dogs, though looking back maybe should have realized since they came from my uncle, who was a big hunter, but guess since was never considered a big deal in my house – his was my mom’s brother – never thought about the dogs being considered valuable and expensive until neighbor said they were worth $1000(!) so….but – he said if I were going to do something like that with it he’d give it to me – or maybe 2 – would that be even better so they could still have each other for companionship or would that interfere/should I train both of them – and, yes, do you know much about the program? you have to have official training for the dogs you will be using, starting with, if they are, puppy training, if under 6 mos. old – if not? basic human training, I think, so…do I wait – do I go ahead and get? will they still be there? were they going to be now? I just checked and they are; wondering if he’s waiting on me? didn’t ask? class was supposed to start tonight; thought it might even be full, but no…but….she suggested the Saturday morning one, fewer people, with more instructors, go figure, more individualized attention but….1st class, don’t bring dog, so guess wouldn’t matter they’re still there, in that sense, could just leave till after then when get my clicker, didn’t think about that when talking to her, so, hm….

    but guess real issue is am I really ready to take on another puppy, with all the issues you bring up; I’ve thought of – am I ready to make that commitment for the longterm, what I think could be life-changing, goal, but then there is also the expense, right as trying to send youngest to college – which is also of course, somewhat where the impetus for this comes from as he’s launching out – do I enjoy the respite for a bit but then with him being my last I had him when I was older, which I’ll just keep getting, so….

    decisions, decisions – didn’t mean to hijack your blog/post but this is just so timely for me – thanks so

    Like

    1. I’m glad my gave you something think about and never apologize for sharing. You are giving the decision regarding getting a dog which is the correct thing to do. When the time is right you will no what to do.

      Like

  3. It is true that people often make uninformed choices when they take a pet home, it’s also true that dogs are discarded like clothes when they don’t fit anymore. Can you imagine how confused they must be? I’d take them all home with me if I could.

    Like

    1. I’m with you. I would take them all home. The local Petsmarts have adoption days and it breaks my heart to see all the dogs needing homes.

      Like

  4. One of our dogs was nearly starved and came from the pound when she was a year old – she’s 8 now. For our other poor fellow – who has been with us for 3 years – he’s only 5 and we’re his 3rd home. As much as I want to see all of these wonderful creatures find homes, they really must be forever homes. Breaking their hearts is unforgivable. I completely agree with the need to think through the decision before jumping in. The twice a day walks are good for us, too, but when Jon travels and it’s 40 or 50 below zero, I take them because I love them, not because I need the exercise!

    Like

Leave a Reply

