Hello World from an Unabashed Dog Lover

Welcome to my first blog. I am sure you are wondering who I am and why you should read my blog. Hopefully by the end of this blog you will have answers to both these questions. If you are a dog lover or a potential dog lover, please stay with me while I introduce myself.

I am a relatively new dog lover. I never grew up with dogs although I desperately wanted one. As a young ambitious adult, I hesitated getting a dog. I was unsure of whether I had the time to give a dog a healthy and happy life.  My focus was my career. As such it was only about 14 years ago I finally got my first dog. After researching different breeds and getting advice from a local vet about what would be a good fit with my busy work schedule and who would fit into a family with a young boy, I was ready to take the leap.

The final decision was to visit local animal shelter in search of a Lab or Lab cross that was already house trained and well behaved. It didn’t take long to find a 7 month old black Lab cross. Although he appeared to be well behaved, he had just been returned by a previous adopter.

That first leap lead to having, until recently, four dogs:  a purebred Tri-Color Rough Coat Collie, an Australian Cattle Dog/Border Collie cross, a Lab Cross and a true 100% mutt. These were my trainers, and mentors in dog parenting.

Dog Collage2

What I would like to accomplish with this blog is to share the lessons I have learned over the last 14 years. I hope I encourage some, who are hesitant, to take that plunge to adopting a dog. I also will share some information from the real experts on how to find training, good health care, nutrition, pet sitting and boarding for your dogs.

All of this will be wrapped in stories that show how much love, laughter and unfortunately sometimes tears my dogs have brought to my life. I hope you check back later for new posts and will share you comments and thoughts with me.

7 thoughts on “Hello World from an Unabashed Dog Lover

Leave a Reply

